My Passion & Curiosity Quotients

In this final week of CEP 812, I read an article by Thomas Friedman, in which explains how in this new and emerging economy, IQ is worth less than PQ (passion quotient) and CQ (curiosity quotient).  Because knowledge is so easily Googled and so quickly changes, it is more important to be able to learn, create, and connect.

As I reflect on my journey through the Graduate Certificate Program in Educational Technology through Michigan State, I can see how true Friedman’s claims are.  I think I’ve learned a lot about specific tools in this program.  But the courses have not been focused on those specific tools.  The tools are just a way to creatively express the ideas that I’ve learned, explored, and become passionate about.

The 3 courses in this program shaped my teaching practices and philosophies in indelible ways, not only in the way I taught chemistry or the way I engaged in social media to learn, but also in the way I’ve been able to step into my new job as an instructional technology coach (ITC).

My students are now not just the high school students, but also the teachers who teach them.  And I have a large amount of input into the professional development they receive.  Katie (the other ITC) and I share the view that teaching teachers how to use a tech tool is most helpful when taught in a way that unleashes the passion and excites the curiosity of the teachers.  It has to connect to their classroom practice, and we want them to see how the tool can be used in a way that engages and excites their students to learn more deeply.  I believe that this is the way that the culture of the school will shift and learning will become more focused on developing the PQ and CQ of our faculty and students, so that they are prepared to innovate and learn.

In the following graphic, I illustrate some of the ways in which I’ve used my PQ and CQ to enhance my abilities as a tech coach and how that has inspired teachers and students at York to develop their PQ and CQ.  I used Piktochart (my newest, favorite obsession) to create the infographic and ThingLink to add hyperlinked bubbles.  Hover over each segment of the graphic to view the links.  If anything you see here inspires your own passion and curiosity, feel free to modify and reuse it.  After all, as we learned in CEP 811, everything is a remix!

(if you cannot view the image below, click here to view the image in ThingLink)

Unfortunately some of the Google links may only work in my school’s Google domain.  If you are interested in viewing any resources that are not linking correctly, please contact me and I’ll be happy to send you a copy.

Resources:

Friedman, T. (2013, January 29). It’s P.Q. and C.Q. as Much as I.Q. Retrieved December 11, 2015, from http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/30/opinion/friedman-its-pq-and-cq-as-much-as-iq.html?_r=0

All images were created by me or my colleague Katie Diebold, or taken with permission from the websites to which they are linked.

Leave a Reply

